NRDB in Review 12-27-15: Drug Dealer Gabe

Drug Dealer Gabe on NRDB

I sense a great disturbance in the Jank —  as if millions of Spark Agencies suddenly cried out in terror.  Store Champs are coming, it’s time to put down our Endless Hunger’s and get back to business.  The business of selling drugs and stealing agendas.

Gabriel Santiago: Consummate Professional
Event (18)
3x Account Siphon
3x Dirty Laundry
3x Easy Mark
2x Emergency Shutdown
2x Fisk Investment Seminar
2x Inside Job
1x Levy AR Lab Access   •••
2x Special Order

Hardware (9)
1x Clone Chip   ••
3x Desperado
2x HQ Interface
2x Plascrete Carapace
1x R&D Interface   ••

Resource (8)
3x Bank Job
3x Drug Dealer
2x Same Old Thing

Icebreaker (4)
1x Breach
2x Faerie
1x Faust   ••

Program (6)
2x Datasucker   ••
2x Parasite   ••••
2x Sneakdoor Beta

15 influence spent (max 15)
45 cards (min 45)
Cards up to The Universe of Tomorrow

Faust is great, drug dealer is great.  The end.

No, seriously.  That’s it.  If anyone has doubts about the breaker suite, please refer to either the 2015 World Champion Runner deck: Radisson Cheese Plate.  Or you can check out this amazing write-up from the original deck designer TheBigBoy on his blog Run The Net.

I must give mad props to Kookoobah for making some minor, but bold tweaks and still giving full credit to TheBigBoy in his NRDB post.  Kookoobah is a class act, and an awesome player, please check out the recordings of his games played during the Psi Games in 2015 – he is a pro.

Really I can’t say anything about the Drug Dealer Gabe deck that hasn’t already been said by better players… Also I was feeling pretty lazy this week… so I pulled a few strings and arranged for TheBigBoy to be interviewed by a close personal friend of mine on his show in exchange for the exclusive posting rights.

Without further ado it’s time for:

 

marcuschatty

 marcusava MarcusChatty
Good evening nerdbears, this is Net Night, I’m your host Marcus Chatty and with me, to my dismay is the only co-host I could find: Stimbot, the chat AI from stimhack’s slack channel. 

Joining us this evening to discuss the deck of the week is stimhack league champion TheBigBoy!

 tbbav TheBigBoy
Hello!
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Thank you for joining us, let me have Stimbot pull up a seat for you.

Stimbot image me nice couch

 stimbot Stimbot
cozysofa
 marcusava MarcusChatty
That’s… not even close to correct.

Stimbot image me regular couch

 stimbot Stimbot
regularcouch
 marcusava MarcusChatty
dammit stimbot… this is extremely unprofessional

Stimbot image me reg-ass couch

 stimbot Stimbot
couch
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Okay, there we go! Please have a seat. Sorry about that Abram, may I call you Abram?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Yeah
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Let’s get all of the basics out of the way, what got you into Netrunner?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
I started at about Honor and Profit I think, I bought a Core just to try out the game.
I’m not quite sure how I heard about it, probably an Amazon recommendation
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Did you play any other card games before netrunner?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
MtG for 15 years
 marcusava MarcusChatty
That explains it.
 tbbav TheBigBoy
So after the core I watched the entire Team Covenant Channel, Bought all the cards, played OCTGN for a month, then made top 8 a Store Champ with 50 people
 marcusava MarcusChatty
You were only playing online before that?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
That tournament was my first in-person netrunner
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Wow, so how much of what you learned online translate into real life?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Everything, – online is far better practice than in-person, at least for me
although playing in person is much more fun
 marcusava MarcusChatty
So in your opinion, if someone is interested in learning the game, is online play worth it?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Yes, but only OCTGN 😉
 marcusava MarcusChatty
How has being the stimhack league champion and a renowned netrunner blogger affected your personal life?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Oh god, some people actually listen to me now?
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Your blog is very instructive! You have a really analytical, yet easy to follow approach to the game that really comes through in the several minutes that I spent reading your blog before this interview.
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Most of the ideas for my blog just come from explaining things to people I know. then I try to get everything concrete and in writing.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Well, it’s working out great. Has it been hard for you to juggle time spent attending fundraisers, speaking engagements and rolling in piles of [netrunner money]?
 stimbot Stimbot
sure-gamble
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Game is ruined
by all the money
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Give me 0 – 2 credits and I’ll be happy, know what I mean?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Someone once asked me why i always bid 0 with Noise
I said for me caprice is an 8-cost upgrade that says “the runner cannot steal from remote servers”
and Noise can beat that card.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Caprice is overrated, I mean she’s not even a sysop, so… what does she know?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
She is pretty good… Some decks try to steal things out of remotes, lol – Caprice is pretty good against them.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
One time Akitaro tried to steal Caprice’s lunch, he bid 0 and had to eat at Arbys.
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Here’s an example for you. In a regionals game I had a D4vid vs Wraparound + Caprice Sundrew. I had 3 shots at it.I bid 0 – 0 – 0
 marcusava MarcusChatty
What did he bid?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
1 – 1 – 0 got ’em 😉
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Ugh, that truly hurts me inside.
 tbbav TheBigBoy
But do you know why he bid 0 on the last run?
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Why?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
because he went into that situation with like 6 credits and I apply pressure.If you just sit back and remote-camp, sure then Caprice is random.

But, if you get in their face, it’s not random.  You can tilt them into 0.

 marcusava MarcusChatty
So Sure Gamble is pretty good, why do you think Kookoobah hates it so much?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Sometimes I hate it too. I think he’s right to run some number of Easy Mark.I’m convinced that some kind of mix is probably best, like 2 gamble 1 mark. I’d rather draw 1 of each than 2 of either.Being able to play from 0 is important right now.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
What makes you say that?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
There are many must-trash situations where if you miss your window the corp gets rich. Not having to click for credits means that you won’t miss those opportunities.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Alright, I know a thing or two about Psi games, let’s do one now.
 tbbav TheBigBoy
If you win do I lose my corroder?
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Ah, how’d you get that thing in here, security was supposed to pat you down…Nevermind!

I Bid 2!

 tbbav TheBigBoy
bid 0
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Ha! I win!
 tbbav TheBigBoy
run again.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Well, I seem to be a little short right now…

I bid… 0

 tbbav TheBigBoy
bid 0
 marcusava MarcusChatty
IM-IMPOSSIBLE!
 tbbav TheBigBoy
See? Can’t afford those 2’s 🙂

So what really happens when you lose a psi game?

 marcusava MarcusChatty
Oh it’s no big deal, Jinteki has this great cross-training program. You get promoted to a position out on a farm in Palana where you get to run around and play with all the other clones and sysops.  

I’ve heard it’s great.

 tbbav TheBigBoy
I think I know where the Improved Protein Source comes from now.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Soy probably, but that’s a strange thing to bring up just now.  

Let’s talk some more about this Gabe deck.  What’s your take on Kookoobah’s revisions and why are they all wrong?

 tbbav TheBigBoy
They’re good!  I’d keep 3 Fisk Seminar and go to 1 Shutdown, but that’s it.

2 plascrete is smart – though it’s a bit annoying that 24/7 Breaking News Scorch will never rotate.

 marcusava MarcusChatty
What else do you find annoying in Netrunner right now?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Maybe how awful some people are at teaching this game? There are a lot of new players getting told things that are just false.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Lay it on me
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Like that they should “netdeck”
 marcusava MarcusChatty
But Abram, netdecks are proven to work!
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Work”When I introduce people to the game, I tell them that as a runner, you don’t need cards to win. Your cards are answers to questions the corp will ask you.

I taught a friend recently that took all of the things I said at face value.  He built a Gabe deck with just 2 cores and Honor & Profit.

 marcusava MarcusChatty
How did that go?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
He dominated the local scene for weeks! Crypsis for days.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Let’s hope nobody tells him about Faust then.
 tbbav TheBigBoy
People don’t understand Faust. You don’t need money, and you can’t get locked out. Like ever.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
What’s the one thing you think players can learn from playing decks like this Gabe.
 tbbav TheBigBoy
That you don’t need to run remotes to win at netrunner 😉
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Just win Psi games.
 tbbav TheBigBoy
And play decks before you talk about them.
 marcusava MarcusChatty
Of course… you’d have to be a pretty arrogant asshole to do that.Do you have any final thoughts to help aspiring deck builders navigate this complicated children’s game?
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Netrunner isn’t a children’s game…

It’s for Big Boys 😉

 marcusava MarcusChatty
Ha! I walked right into that one…
 tbbav TheBigBoy
Just play a ton, and use your brain. If a card seems good to you, then play it a ton, and see if it is
.marcusava MarcusChatty
That is a great sentiment!

Thank you so much for taking your time to chat with us this evening Abram. Everyone, be sure to follow TheBigBoy’s blog [Run The Net on wordpress].

 stimbot Stimbot
womaninred
 marcusava MarcusChatty

I’m transferring to Palana…

 

Leave a Reply

